Posted by: mymce | May 5, 2009

Fixing “Media Center has stopped working” In Windows Seven Media Center

On a Windows Seven Ultimate based system that is running Windows Media Center, you receive the following error message:

Media Center has stopped working.A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Please close the program.
Cause:- This may happen if Windows Media Center data store is damaged.
 
Resolution:-
 
Click Start button and in the Start Search box type in the following command:-
 
%systemdrive%\programdata\microsoft\ehome and press the Enter Key.
 
Now locate mcepg1-5-0 file,it’s a db or data base file.Right click on it and delete it.
 
Restart Windows Media Center.
 
This will now allow you to configure Windows Seven Media Center from the scratch.
 
 fig1
 
fig2

 

 

Responses

  1. You are a genius!!!!!! Thank you, thank you

  2. Thank you!! Haven’t been able to find this information anywhere else. You are a lifesaver!

    Fwiw – the .db files on my machine had different names, but I just renamed each of the existing db files to .bak (just in case) and then was able to start WMC again.

  3. Spent the last 2 weeks searching for a fix for this. You are a star!!!

  4. Thanks, this is by far the best usable advice so far.

  5. I have just purchased a touch screen AIO with the Windows Media Center on Windows 7 and get the above error message but when I look for the file mcepg1-5-0 as shown in your instructions I have a mcepg2-0.

    Should I delete this?????

    How do I then configure it????

    Thanks :0)

  6. sorry,its still the same problem here

  7. I’m on Win 7 64 bit Home Premium – delete any / all of the mcepg files (not the directories) and all will be working again!

  8. [...] http://mymce.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/fixing-media-center-has-stopped-working-in-windows-seven-media… Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

  9. I tried this and when I go to the Media Center and click on Movies in my Library it says that Media Center has stopped working, then it checks for a resolution and then it tells me to close the program. Is there something that I am doing wrong. Cause then I go back and the mcepg files that I deleted are back.

  10. Thank you so much. I have another issue. I need to start m/c from scratch. The first time I ran m/c it would search for my local tv guide but would not find it. I was able to go back and reset my tv in manual but it would not allow me to save it & then it crash. Now it is still searching tv guide but will not allow me to reset it manual. It remembers my previous setting.

    Thank you,

    Steve

  11. i found deleteing third party programs divx and realplayer worked

  12. yea baby, 3 years i’ve been trying to find the problem thanks a lot

  13. Unfortunately, this did not fix my problem. My MCE is still shutting down when I click on movies. I thought the problem started when I started using Media Center Master, but I have uninstalled MCM and the problem still exist.

  14. I have the exact same problem as Rodney. I downloaded Media Center Master to get metadata for my movie library. Now when i navigate to movies within WMC i get this message and it shuts down. Please help!!

  15. @Rodney L. Watson n Justin Vilardi ,could you kindly look at the event viewer to find the exact cause of shutting down?another thing you could do-create another user id with admin rights and reconfigure WMC there.Once done recheck the issue.

  16. this is what I have in event viewer when i get the issue. It shows up as information rather than an error.

    - EventData

    1657886251
    5
    CLR20r3
    Not available
    0
    ehshell.exe
    6.1.7600.16385
    4a5bccdc
    Microsoft.MediaCenter.UI
    6.1.0.0
    4ce7b8bc
    2731
    0
    System.ArgumentException

    C:\Users\Tony\AppData\Local\Temp\WER152.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
    C:\Users\Tony\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_ehshell.exe_9567d9be10c5fbd867ecbcb7378dc679f5f740eb_17421945

    0
    20f4d2fc-08e7-11e2-acdf-50e549568129
    0

    a process named ehshell.exe runs for a while at around 95% of my cpu (seen in task manager) then appears to time out. Please advise me as to what i can do.

  17. You may post here:
    http://forums.mediacentermaster.com/ as you are facing problem after installing Media Center Master.

    You may uninstall it and recheck the issue,or may create another User account with admin rights as suggested earlier and reconfigure WMC there.

  18. Very Amazing!! thank you, thank you very very much :D

  19. You can delete the the files and it will run fine whether if its 5-0 or 2-0 or 2-1

  20. Thank You for your help, ive been trying to fix this problem on my laptop but i didnt wan to do a fresh install of windows. Thank You

  21. Hey, I found my mcepg files but only the one of them can be deleted. It isnt possible to remove another files because there is written that I need the permission of computer administrator but I am an administrator. How can I remove that files? Thank you


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

