How to rebuild Media Center data store in Windows 7 Media Center

If the  Media Center data store gets corrupted Windows Media Center will crash.So if there is a corrupted  Media Center data store then here is a fix:-

1.Make sure ‘Show hidden files,folders and drives option is enabled.

2.This will allow to show the hidden ProgramData under %SYSTEMDRIVE%\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome.Double click on it to open.

Alternatively in Start Search box type in:-

%SYSTEMDRIVE%\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome and hit the Enter Key.

3.Double click on Microsoft folder and locate eHome.

4.Double click on eHome and locate mcepg data base (.db) file (eg.mcpeg2-0/mcepg1-5-0 etc).

5.Right click on mcpeg.db file and Delete it.

6.Restart the System and restart the Media Center as well.

data

4 thoughts on “How to rebuild Media Center data store in Windows 7 Media Center

  1. I tried this – it did build a new file, but still doesn’t display the folders in the My Pictures folder, even though the Settings indicates that they are included!

  2. I cannot seem to download Shaw direct guide , Windows media centre did at one time down load guide but now I g t the message The guide could not be downloaded for more information right click on windows system tray icon and open windows media centre update log

    I ve tried this but cannot find the log , I am running window 7 professional 64 bit .

    I do get satalite TV but no guide

    HELP

    dougsacrylic@yahoo.ca

      1. I have not been able to download the guide at all

        So I can t check it with zapit.

        When I first hooked up my satellite to my pc it worked fine , no problems with downloading the guide , now it won’t download the guide

        Doug

Leave a comment